Corruption: FCTA suspends 13 officers


By Paul Efiong

The FCT Administration has announced the suspension of 13 officers over corruption charges by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The FCT Permanent Secretary, Babatope Ajakaiye, made this disclosure at the weekend in his office in Abuja.

The affected officers are : Suleiman Idris, Assistant Director, Transportation Secretariat, Idris Usman, Assistant Director, Engineering Services Department, FCDA, Mohammed Ishaq ,Chief Planning Officer, Urban & Regional Planning Department.

Others are Helen Olokpo, Principal Town Planning Officer, Urban & Regional Planning Department, Bamidele Olaitan, Principal Education Officer, Education Secretariat, Ambrose Samchi, Principal Accountant, Treasury Services Department ,Hassan Argungu, Principal Land Officer, AGIS and Saba Mohammed, Senior Data Officer, AGIS.

Also affected are Yusuf Baba, Senior Administrative Officer, AGIS, Abdullahi Musa, Senior Administrative Officer, Deeds Registrar’s Office, Abraham Murtala Belel, Senior Accountant, Treasury Services Department, Andrew Gwani, Land Officer, and Abdulmalik Teina, Senior Accountant, Treasury Services Department

According to a statement by Deputy Director and Chief Press Secretary, Muhammad Sule, the FCT permanent secretary, stated that the suspension was in line with the Public Service Rule 030406, which states, “where a prima facie case, the nature of which is serious, has been established against an officer and it is considered necessary in the public interest that he/she should forthwith be prohibited from carrying out his/her duties, pending the determination of the case”.

Source: Today Trending News




Leave a Reply